Nakshatras in Astrology – Characteristics::Effects & Predictions

Nakshatra refers to a group of stars that occupies a particular portion of the sky.Simply put , it is something that resides or is “ashrita” in the Heavens. Nakshatras are usually referred to as the divine mansions and are a total of 28 in number. 27 physical nakashatras and 1 additional nakshatra for other diagnostic purposes , such as use in various dashas and for electional horoscopy. 28 nakshatra scheme also finds its usage in various chakras of vedic astrology.

Mythologically , Daksha Prajapati , the son of the creator Brahma , had 27 daughters which he had married to Chandra Deva or Moon and thus , moon is also known as udunatha or lord of the nakshatras. Every night the moon rides upon his chariot and takes an average of 13 hours to travel through each nakshatra , completing the entire cycle in 28.4 days. This cycle is known as a lunar cycle and is directly related to the high and low tides in the oceans in the physical world. The nakshtras are the wives of the Moon , as just as every being or entity is different , each of these nakshatras have their own characteristics , effects and purposes. The predictions based on nakshatras also differ. Ravana , in his epic text Uddisha Tantra , gave special effects relating to nakshatras and had entire system of prediction based only upon nakshatras.

Each nakshatra has a symbol , a deity and certain characteristics attributed to it. Each nakshatra also has 4 feet or padas and they represent the Dharma , Artha , Kama and Moksha qualities of the nakshatra. The 27 nakshatras are listed below :-

  1. Ashwini
  2. Bharani
  3. Krittika
  4. Rohini
  5. Mrigshira
  6. Ardra
  7. Punarvasu
  8. Pushya
  9. Ashlesha
  10. Magha
  11. Purva Phalguni
  12. Uttar Phalguni
  13. Hasta
  14. Chitra
  15. Swati
  16. Vishakha
  17. Anuradha
  18. Jyestha
  19. Moola
  20. Poorva Shadha
  21. Uttara Shadha
  22. Sravana
  23. Dhanistha
  24. Satabhisha
  25. Poorva Bhadrapada
  26. Uttara Bhadrapada
  27. Revati

Each of these nakshatras will he discussed separately in a separate post , as a fundamental understanding of these nakshatras is very essential in understanding , what karma a particular graha wishes to dispose of , when placed in a certain nakshatra. The nakshatras also form yogas , when they coincide with certain weekdays and tithis . This aspect is very powerful and useful in electional or muhurta astrology. The nakshatras also cruel  and gentle in nature along with being auspicious and inauspicious.

Nakshatras are abodes of divine beings ,where the devatas reside and worshipping the nakshatra devatas has special importance and are very potent in giving results. Each also has a specific mantra and ritual of worship as taught by Lord Brahma. Nakshatras emit divine light and when the grahas in orbit interact with the nakshatras , their nature and results gets modified and as a result , the same planet gives different result for everyone. Since the grahas have no light of their own , but only possess the power to seize or grasp consciousness , they ultimately give the results , but the backstage act is always played by the nakshatras.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: